A long time coming

Hi all!

My flight went very smoothly, there was very little turbulence . A charming English lady and her husband were sitting beside me who had been married for 48 years! Regardless of the two days of running around like a mad woman before my departure, I was unable to sleep, so once I landed Mark and I went for a lovely breakfast in Lewes at Bill’s http://www.billsproducestore.co.uk/default.asp (it was a nice sunny day so we sat on the patio) and then I came home to sleep.

The next day Mark gave me a little driving tour around Eastbourne and then we headed to Beachy Head. It was so very beautiful there — the white cliffs, the sea, a lighthouse… Don’t take my word for it, have a look:

Beachy  Head

The sea :)

So beautiful!

This is Mark by the way:

Mark - Beachy Head

I saw some poppy flowers, I’m quite certain I’ve never seen any growing in the wild before, they were so very vibrant! And of course, there were other beautiful flowers and cute insects.

Poppy flowersA bug!

I have taken so many nice photos that I think I will create a Flicker account; I’ll let you know once it’s up!

I really like Eastbourne, it’s a pretty, quiet spot. Mark’s flat is great too! We can walk pretty much everywhere, which is great for me! Here is the view from his windows:

View from Mark's flatView from Mark's bedroomIn front of Mark's flat

Tomorrow we are off to explore Pevensey Castle: http://www.english-heritage.org.uk/server/show/nav.14191 as well as Battle Abbey: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battle_Abbey! Looking forward to it!

6 Responses to A long time coming

  1. reykjavik2008 says:

    Hi Sharlene!

    I’m glad to see you are having a great time! I love Lewes! I used to live only 20 minutes away. It is such a quaint town… yet the craziest place in the UK on Guy Fawkes night. Are the photos of the cliffs and poppies from Seven Sisters??? Ah, you are making me nostalgic!

    I’m looking forward to reading more about your adventures! 🙂

    Lisa

    • europilote says:

      Hi Lisa 🙂

      Yes, we were very close to the Seven Sisters when I took that pic! Lewes was very lovely indeed, I’ll have to go back when I’m not quite as tired, I’d like to visit the castle. Where did you live?

  2. Kat says:

    Glad you arrived safely — and the area looks gorgeous!! 😀

  3. shannon says:

    cute insects… not sure i buy that but the area looks very picturesque. add me on flickr when you get your account set up! ❤

  4. reykjavik2008 says:

    Hi Sharlène,

    I lived in Brighton and went to school in Falmer (University of Sussex), both just west of Lewes. Lewes was actually my first daytrip when I moved there! If you have the chance to visit it on Guy Fawkes Night (November 5th), you would never recognize the sleepy town which goes all out and is taken over with bonfires, rowdy parades and burning effigies!!

    Good luck with finding your flat in Dublin!

    Lisa

  5. europilote says:

    Ah yes, we spent the day in Brighton, it’s only 30 minutes from Eastbourne! I loved it there 🙂 Mark told me about Guy Fawkes Night, sounds crazy!!!

    I’m sure I’ll find a nice flat, there are lots out there!!

    Sha 🙂

Leave a Reply

